Arts Council Adds 13 New Works to South Dakota Museum of Art Collection

Arts Council Adds 13 New Works to South Dakota Museum of Art Collection

South Dakota Arts Council bought Thirteen new works are contributed to the National Public Art Collection through the National Art in Architecture program.

The most recent purchase was selected by a five-member SDAC advisory committee that reviewed 62 proposals and made a decision based on the quality of the work; the artwork’s relevance to the South Dakota environment, history, heritage or culture; the artist’s specialty Experience; permanence and security, meeting the requirements of a public artwork.

The artworks selected for purchase represent artists from across the state, including:

  • Mick B Harrison, Bell Forsh, Faster eyes and faster doorsOil on Canvas, 24”x40”

  • Amy Lehman, Belvidere, fixed pointPhotography, 17.5”x22.5”

  • Teri McTee, Faith, enduranceColored Pencils, 12″x10″

  • Angela Berenz, Madison, buffaloMixed Media Sculpture, 32”x48”

  • Susan Del Rey, Rapid City, St. Joe’s Sturgis Weekwatercolor on paper, 16.5”x12”

  • Roger Ellingson, Sioux Falls, South DakotaAcrylic, 48”x30”

  • Laura Jewell, Sioux Falls, meadow pipit blockWatercolor, 8”x8”

  • Chad Nelson & Lindsay Twa, Sioux Falls, parable of ashesWoodcut, 48″x96.5″

  • Barbara Sparks, Sioux Falls, SD, EchinaceaWatercolor, 48”x36”

  • Jordan Thornton, Sioux Falls, Pasque Fieldlinocut, watercolor, 8”x15”

  • Jesse Nelson, Spearfish, sleeping bearMetal Photo, 40”x20”

  • J. Desy Schoenewies, Spearfish, transplantOil on Canvas, 60”x48”

  • Kate Thompson, Whitewood, majestic aspenOnboard Oil, 12”x30”

The National Art in Architecture Program was created in 2008 to showcase the work of South Dakota’s talented artists and to establish a permanent national art collection for display in public areas of state government buildings. A full list of national architectural art collections and locations is available through the SDAC website:; Works purchased this year will be installed throughout the Capitol for public display later this summer (2022).

As an office of the South Dakota Department of Tourism, the mission of the South Dakota Arts Council is to provide grants and services to artists, arts organizations and schools across the state with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts and the State of South Dakota.

South Dakota Tourism is made up of the Tourism Authority and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is headed by Secretary James D. Hagen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here