Editor’s Note: This is the second of three articles on Scotts Addition. The first part gave the early history of the neighborhood. In this article, we’ll look at some of the old buildings that remain in the district. The final part critiques the new buildings in the area.
After World War I, Richmond’s manufacturing and business operations spurred the expansion of the railroad yard and the completion of Broad Street Station (now the Virginia Science Museum) in 1919, sneaking west from downtown. In 1947, after World War II, the Richmond Chamber of Commerce reported that “Scotts Addition was still full of industrial and commercial development.”
In 1954, Triple A baseball Virginia citizens settled in nearby Parkerfield (now Diamond). In 1956, at Addition’s 3600 W. Broad St., Seaboard Air Line Railroad completed a fascinating office building that looked like a caboose when you squinted. Willow Lawn and Reynolds Metals furthered its development in 1957. Shortly thereafter, the interstate highway system opened, with industry and warehouses shifting their focus here and to the suburbs of the country.
Addition is a multipurpose district of 245 acres of commercial buildings, making it a relatively marginalized area in the heart of the city. If you didn’t live there or hit your watch, visiting Curles Neck Dairy for an ice cream cone was the main attraction of everyday people.
It will change after 2012, when the neighborhood witnessed the beginning of a dramatic change. The historic rehabilitation tax credit has made it economically attractive to turn the relentless cityscape of almost one-story red brick warehouses and factories into apartments, offices, breweries and restaurants. Currently, due to the growing population, there may be too many one-way streets, few paved sidewalks, and limited green space, but a closer look at some of the redeveloped buildings reveals a lot. There is a joy of architecture in the place of. Some of Richmond’s most prominent architects in the first half of the 20th century designed the building here. This includes Louis Burrow, Karl Messerschmitt, and L. Includes Otis Spires and Marcellus Light Senior.
It’s worth checking out the six old buildings in the neighborhood.
Boulevard Baptist Church, 2942 W. Marshall St.
Few precious buildings have survived from the pre-warehouse era of Scotts Addition in the 1900s and 1910s. But what stands out in that word is the corrupt former Boulevard Baptist Church. The stucco-facing sanctuary of 1916, despite its very humble structure, is fascinated by the complexity of its structure. The central block of the sanctuary is an octagonal shape that extends over four enclosed transepts. Despite its condition, the building exudes classic dignity worthy of a Jeffersonian plan. The educational structure of two discreet concrete blocks facing Altamont Avenue makes this a fascinating complex (architects and architects unknown). The property was recently sold to a developer who plans to build an apartment on the premises.
Hoffheimerville, 2816 W. Broad St.
In the late 20’s of the Roaring Twenties, Richmond had an exotic atmosphere of architecture. The theaters of the Mosque (now Altria), Bird and Loews (now Dominion Energy Center) have been wiped out of patrons on a magic carpet in an atmospheric interior. However, at Scotts Addition, there was a visual thrill in the exterior of the HR Hofheimer Rug Cleaning & Storage building. Young Richmonder Harold E. Kalish, who studied architecture at the University of Pennsylvania when he designed this building, returned from a trip to the Middle East with his father (Edward N. Kalish, Congregation Beth).・ Rabbi who worked for many years in Ahava). They took a lot of pictures and even rode an elephant during their journey. In Hoffheimerville, architects were inspired by the historic and holy places his father and his son visited in Jerusalem and India, including pointed arches, onion domes, tiled roofs, and stucco walls. Incorporated elements. For years, the building was occupied by the Adams Camera Shop. In 2016, the so-called “Hoff” was restored and reopened for a variety of purposes such as event venues, roof decks and Peter Chan restaurants.
Altamont Apartments, 1620 Altamont Avenue.
The free outbreak of Art Deco design occurs throughout Scotts Addition, and one of the best examples is Altamont Apartments. The red brick structure was built in 1929 to house the Chevrolet Parts Depot. It was designed by German-born Detroit-based Albert Kahn (1869-1942). This is probably the most prolific industrial architect in the country. Kahn became famous and wealthy and built about 1,000 buildings for Ford Motor Company. Modest compared to Khan’s Detroit project, this balanced two-story Chevrolet facility has seven hearty brick pillars that underpin the decorative concrete capital. In 1994, its successor, Albert Kahn Associates, designed another building in Richmond. This is the 6-story Ethyl Corporation Additives Research Center on Downtown Belvidere and Springs Streets.
Blue Bee Cider Lee, 1326 Summit Avenue.
Locals boast that Richmond is equipped with the world’s first major electric tram system, but removes and disposes of the cobblestones that once paved the streets of our city and fixed the rails. Little is known about. A great example of recycling these granite blocks is in BlueBee Cidery. This complex was born around 1916 as a stable in the city. In 1940, Works Progress Administration (WPA) funds were used to rebuild and expand the complex. For decades, the recreation and park department of the city of Richmond kept a set for Dogwood Dell Productions here (the Birdpark Amphitheater was also built in 1957 with cobblestones). The Johannas Design Group oversaw the conversion of the building into a savvy ciderly. It creates the feeling of being in a winery in the French countryside.
Handcraft Cleaner Building, 3300 W. Leigh St.
The Handcraft Cleaners Building, which fills the streets of Westley Street, is one of Richmond’s iconic modernist architecture. It is reminiscent of the German design academy Bauhaus, where the international style was nurtured. This concrete block tour deforce was built in 1946 for the Richmond-based Binswanger Glass Company. The building block is divided into three sections: an office block, a glass processing center, and a wing with a glass polishing crane. The building has been carefully refurbished by 510 architects for multiple uses. These include offices, breweries and Stella’s Market. The elevated terrace on the Moore Street side accommodates outdoor dining and drinking, greatly enlivening street life.
3600 Center, 3600 W. Broad Street
This huge gray brick mid-century modern giant building on West Broad Street was built in 1956 as the regional headquarters for the Seaboard Air Line Railroad. It was one of the largest office buildings in the West End at the time. The eight-story building was designed by Baskerville and Son, the leading companies that co-designed the Richmond Memorial Hospital (now the Ginter Place Condo) on Westwood Avenue in Lavanham Park. Both buildings reinforce punched windows with bold squares and wide aluminum perimeter. The long canopy on the ground floor sits along the sidewalk on Broad Street, and the building firmly anchors the southwestern edge of Scotts Addition. The modernity of the building’s materials and shapes contrasts with another office building, Colonial Williamsburg Confectionery. Colonial Williamsburg Confectionery was built three blocks west for the Home Beneficial Life Insurance Company at this time. Reused as a 3600 center in 2013, the building is now a multi-purpose residential complex with a crunch fitness gym on the ground floor that operates day and night. How are you!